Graphic Design Beyond Limits: Earth 8-8-2 (The Genesis Project)

Earth 8-8-2: The Genesis Project!
#Still99CentsOnKindle

What’s cooking? Da’Kharta here.

There is so much work that goes into writing, but what about the work beyond writing? Not just coming up with the book cover but also the book trailer.

Today, I have Part One of a Two Part Series entitled “Graphic Design Beyond Limits.” It features the architect of the trailers for both Earth 8-8-2: The Genesis Project and Boundless Limits: Transcendent Choice (Book One).

I asked the founder of All Authors Graphic Design the same set of questions for both book trailers. This day will focus on Earth 8-8-2; the following day, Boundless Limits.

Let’s get started!

ssmdivider

gdlogo

 

 

1. Did you need to read the stories at all to generate the type of images you wanted to incorporate? If so, how many times did you read them?

Yes, I did. While the authors gave me highlights on what the stories were about, I felt that in reading them I was much more informed and then was able to conjure up a mental image of almost what I thought the trailers should look like. I only had to read each story once for this.

let-s-go-and-grab-earth-8-8-2

2. How much input did you need from the actual author prior to staring the trailer?

Tons.

I sort of have a process–I don’t know if its actually an artistic process, but it’s a process nonetheless.

What I do is make a preliminary draft with images that I think go along with the story. Once that is done, I send it to the author informing him/her that it’s a rough draft and then ask for feedback.

I want them to look at the rough draft and tell me what they believe works and what doesn’t. Basically, I want him/her to be as honest and upfront as possible telling me everything they thought.

Why do I do this? Because I can only create a good video is if I am well informed.

Then I take everything he/she says and utilize that in creating the final video.

There is a method to the madness. Sometimes people don’t know what they really want until they see it. Providing a preliminary draft allows the author to rule out what he/she really wants and/or needs.

3. In the majority of book trailers, still imagery is still being used. What prompted you to utilize moving pictures?

I find that moving pictures brings the video to life. While still images are great and there is nothing wrong with using them (I still do), moving images tempts the imagination and creates a more vivid image. It also makes the Book Trailer seems more like a Movie Trailer.

4. How long did it take you to do the trailer?

It took me about 3 days to produce the finalized video for “Earth 8-8-2: The Genesis Project”. This was because it was my own video and I already knew what I wanted.

5. Was the client satisfied with the first rendition of the trailer or did you have to redo it?

Since it was my own video, I already sort of knew what I wanted.The trick was getting it to come together just right.

6. What is the toughest part of the creative process of the book trailer?

There are a few steps I use in my “creative process”:

1. Read the book.
2. Send the author an email asking him/her what they “see/visualize” the trailer as.
3. Use that information to create a Draft.
4. Send the Draft to the author for their feedback. Asking him/her to give me as much information as possible.
5. Using that information to create the Final Draft.

I used this process every time. The tough part most of the time, is trying to visualize exactly what the author is. Sometimes my artistic vision does not quite line up with the authors. That’s not to say that I don’t keep going until I get it just right. Nevertheless, that can be someone of a challenge.

7. How tough is it to find music that matches the tone of the story?

Wow. It’s very hard to find “just the right” music.

For “Earth 8-8-2: The Genesis Project” I sort of had an idea of what “feel” I wanted to the music to have, the problem was finding just the right song to give off that “feel”. I went through about 7 songs, give or take.

8. What do you like the most about this trailer?

My favorite thing about the “Earth 8-8-2” trailer are the moving images. The worlds rotating, the DNA spinning … love those! The music only elevates and emphasizes that element.

Spinning_Planet_Gif_By_Sookie_by_sookiesooker

That’s all for today. Stay tuned for Part Two of Graphic Design Beyond Limits, where All Authors Graphic Design will reveal how much of a pain in the ass I really was when putting together the trailer for Boundless Limits: Transcendent Choice.

DR

One thought on “Graphic Design Beyond Limits: Earth 8-8-2 (The Genesis Project)

Say it With Your Chest

